Map of Algonquin Park

Posted on August 20, 2010


Maps are ubeatably aesthetically pleasing objects.  That is a fact.  For the Touching Earth Made Of Steel album The Carl Wilson Lake Mystery (which you can buy on iTunes, and which you should buy on iTunes, or Amazon) I whipped up a small map of the middle of Algonquin Park, which I was quite happy with.  Here it is for your enjoyment.  I drew it by hand and coloured it in computer style.

I should also note that a man by the name of Jeffrey McMurtrie has created one of the best things on the internet:  a free, ultra comprehensive map of the entire Park.  Mine is just pretty.  His is damned useful.  If you’re going camping in the park get yourself a copy of Jeffrey’s map, and give him some money too.  He also has scans of old maps which are very cool.  Enjoy.

Try using this for navigation and see what happens to you. Send me a postcard. If you live.

Click on the map to see it at full size.

Posted in: Uncategorized