Shout out to my homegirls at Victoire

Posted on December 29, 2010


If we were suddenly beamed back to Renaissance Europe and I had to ply a trade I would volunteer to be the King.  If that failed I would volunteer to be the town sign maker.  I don’t know what it is, really, but man! do I ever love signage!  In truth I wish that I had become a graphic designer or something, and in a sense I did become a graphic designer, an amateurish, unskilled, crackpot graphic designer.

Now if you were the proprietor of a successful and interesting local business, wouldn’t that be just the kind of guy you’d want to make your signs?  Those of you with good sense have answered “no” but praise be to Odin that Regine of Ottawa’s esteemed Victoire Boutique is not among your number!  For some inexplicable reason she agreed to let me make a sign or two for the shop, so I did.  Regine, I’m sorry it took me so long to do, but I tried to do an extra good job to make up for the delay.  So without further ado, here it is…

The stunning return policy of Ottawa's Victoire Boutique

So don’t walk into the shop a year after you bought some cute little dress and put on 35 pounds and then try to return it.  It won’t work because that sort of behaviour is explicitly prohibited by this very clear policy.

Victoire is a great shop, though now there are two, so I guess I have to say that the Victoires are great shops?  A particular note for the modern gentleman:  Victoire is gift-giving heaven if there’s a lady or two in your life.  Visit their blog here.  Regine even wrote some kind words about this very blog, and spiked my traffic by 8,000%.  Wow!  And while we’re on the subject, why not check out the brand new Victoire commercial.  It’s mighty fine, and makes me wish I were camping.

Wondering how I made the sign?  I drew it by hand and then coloured it in with PhotoShop.  If you have any interest in this at all I cannot recommend the DC Comics Guide to Colouring and Lettering any more.  It’s fantastic!  Even if you have no interest in making comics it gives a very excellent step by painful step guide to colouring things in with computers.  This is a surprisingly powerful technique, which I have used on several things.  Check it out.

Posted in: Visual arts